easy way out

by think_likeafox


 

Gotye – 2011

Right. I am unapologetically in love with Gotye. I listened to Like Drawing Blood and Making Mirrors (I had to get them on iTunes, the disc wasn’t in stores here yet) back to back to back for two weeks straight. I stood as close to the stage as possible and watched them perform during their first North American tour in both New York and Toronto before “Somebody That I Used To Know” and all requisite covers exploded their fame (I may have mentioned they were on my flight (nbd) but I didn’t have the balls to approach and ask for an interview – a chickening out I still kick myself over and probably will for the rest of my life).

I really like that with every song on both albums I could say, “Dad, you should listen to this.” and I would never be worried he’d be offended by content or language. Also, Wally De Backer is fucking talented (oops).

And… I really love the animation in their videos, especially this one. I don’t know what rock I was living under when they released this three months ago but apparently I just crawled out. This one is my fave so far. Except I wish the cat didn’t kick the bucket in the end…

