baby it’s cold outside

by think_likeafox


Brand: Henry of Pelham

Type: Pinot Grigio

Year: 2010

It’s December. I feel like just yesterday it was January and I was thinking of all the things I might try and accomplish or achieve in 2011. Seems like I didn’t actually accomplish or achieve anything I may have committed to a list, although I did quit that awful cashier job from hell, which, “in this economy” is a feat unto itself.

I thought I’d have less time now that I have a more respectable job for someone in my position. But, even though sometimes I bring work home, I have a lot of free time, and I fill it with a lot of side projects. One of those is writing – and I don’t mean blogging or posting things to Contra.

Since I was a little kid I’ve loved writing. I have this binder at my parents house full of stories I started and never finished. I can’t go back and look at them now – why would I torture myself like that? But as green as I may have been in the story telling department, I think they showed promise and passion. All those times I’ve found myself floundering and wondering what the hell I should be doing with my life, I should really just think back to that binder and try and remember the excitement I got from creating a world outside of the one I’m living in.

I read a lot. Like, a lot. I finished Stephen King’s latest tome 11/22/63 in three days. It wasn’t as big as Under the Dome but it was just as good (and his current winning streak with novels bodes well for the next installment of the Dark Tower series, due out May 2012). What does that have to do with anything? I want to write a novel.

If I were on the outside looking in, I’d consider myself a wandering soul. Not because I travel, but because I’m all over the place in my head. An artist, a critic, an editor, a creator… food, travel, fashion, film, photography. I can’t pick an avenue and follow it. Frustrating! So, when someone like me says something like, “I’m going to write a novel!” even I think to myself, “Sure you are.” And roll my eyes thusly.

But I’m actually serious about this, and it’s something I might be able to accomplish, thanks to a friend of mine who turned some of my work onto a friend of HIS who was involved with a well established creative writing group. The group leader read a few of my pieces, and after an interview, invited me to join. They’ve been meeting for over 20 years and have facilitated more than a few novelists in their time. We get together bi-monthly to discuss each other’s work (it’s all incredibly positive, like a round-table think tank) and incredibly helpful. Of all of us, I believe I’m the youngest, and the most green. I’m worried that I’m too all over the place to carry my story through from start to finish, but I think they’re going to help me get out of my own ridiculous head and I’m grateful for that.

Where does HoP wine come in? Our group has a special connection to the winery, and through them I’ve met one of the vineyard owners. She’s fascinating, an inspiration. I want to be like her when I grow up.

So I was at the store the other day considering some form of libation or other and was a little surprised to happen across a few bottles of HoP. Our store is kind of small and almost never has the bottles I really want. (Like Chablis. Why can’t they keep Chablis on the shelves at all stores?!) Since they were out of the sauv I grabbed the pinot grigio, although I’ve never been a big fan. That and chardonnay don’t do it for me. Too dry. But, I thought… I may as well. We might not talk about wine, but at least I’ll have some background if the conversation ever comes up.

Anywho. I was pleasantly surprised by how enjoyable this was. I remember being fully unimpressed with every PG I’ve tried. Apparently, I was sipping the wrong brand, because this was perfect, fruity, fresh.

Our Pinot Grigio breaks New World tradition as a refreshing wine with white cranberry and melon flavours. Taste the new-Old-World in our Niagara vineyards.

I’ll testify to that. Next up, I’m going to try one of their reds. It’s cold now, so it only makes sense to sip on something comforting.

