the big apple

by think_likeafox


I still love New York. I don’t care if it’s been done. I don’t care if the hipsters are taking over (where aren’t they taking over). I love it. I’ve always dreamed of living there, inhabiting that space. A brownstone walk up or a spacious loft. Wooden floors and high ceilings. Wrought iron fire escapes. Claw foot tubs. I guess that’s everyone’s dream now, maybe it’s just a manufactured one. But I fill it with original art, flowers, an antique type writer, some mismatched furniture and worn, wooden sculptures found on the beach. Home. I can dream.

I was there a few weeks ago. A whirlwind trip – the kind where you live your fantasy for a few days, or try. Me and my wide eyes. I’ll never get enough of this city. 

But, there were a few things I really liked about NYC.

Opposites attract. That girl with the black boots and green cargo jacket was standing next to an antique store that wasn’t letting people in. She never looked up from her cell phone. I liked her style. And I liked the steamer trunks.

Lessons. If you have no sense of direction, don’t leave home without a map. We went the wrong way in the dark. Twice. There was a small man dressed all in black, wearing a top hat, in a door way. To nothing. I should have asked to take his picture.

Parties. I didn’t know there was a huge music festival happening in the city. I would have planned ahead. I raced from the airport to the hotel, from the hotel to Santos Party House. Too see Gotye. I like NYC, because this was my first real, live concert for a performer I actually adore. They were amazing. When I flew back to Toronto, the band was on my plane. My heart skipped a beat. I should have said hi, but it was early and… I was too shy.

Moe. It was also my first time meeting Moe. He really did like me. The feeling was mutual.

Hotels. I stayed at Hotel Mela on West 44th. It’s five seconds from Time’s Square. Two seconds from Conde Nast. Not close enough to Starbucks. The staff was really nice though. One of the bell boys helped me hail a cab. “How do I know if they’re free?” “If all the lights are on, they’re free.” “It’s confusing.” “I know.” “That guy had all his lights on but someone is in the back!” “He’s cheating!”

Hotels also sometimes give you candy. The Soho had gummie bears.

People. Most people, I find, don’t want to talk to you. That goes for cabbies. They’re terrible drivers. I got sick a few times. Too much stop too much go. But my cabbie was Egyptian. He asked me where I came from, and he told me about his country, his history. We laughed. I said my dad was mistaken for Egyptian all the time. He was dubious. He let me take his picture. “Put me in the newspaper!” This is close enough to the newspaper.

Drinks. My wine cost $14 a glass. It was beautiful. It was worth it.

Hipster joints. We waited for over a half an hour to get a table. But I guess it was worth it…

Because I met Isaac. He’s another thing I like about NYC. He was very gracious and put up with my weird excitement. It’s fun to admire people. You should try it some time.

Food. I love food anywhere. Everywhere. I tried everything I could.

crab cakemanouri cheese fig preserve pear arugula on sourdoughwarm brie and mango chutney on baguettebasil lemonade

I’m going to make basil lemonade one day.

Food and friends. I don’t like a lot of people, but the people I do like, I like a lot. And I got to spend time with a few of them. Over food. And wine. And stuff your own donut holes.

Every time I go I see a little bit more, but I was ready to come home. And now I’m ready to go back.

